应用研究如何支持澳大利亚COVID后的经济复苏

2020年11月5日

应用研究。您会听到它在学识渊博的圈子中经常谈论。但这实际上是什么意思?是谁做的,为什么呢?为什么澳大利亚现在要比COVID后经济复苏更需要它呢?

应用研究的名称确实有些令人鼓舞。也许如果将其更名为“研究为企业解决现实世界中的问题”,它可能会在澳大利亚引起更多的兴趣和更好的吸引力。实际上,应用研究是有针对性的干预措施,目的是在中小型企业(SME)中引入技术和专有技术解决现实世界中的生产和服务问题。当然,有点口。

随着澳大利亚寻求恢复COVID之前的经济活动,中小企业将需要有针对性的持续支持。从COVID-19兴起的企业很可能会进行转型,但是,它们在获取服务和适应所需的支持方面面临重大挑战。 TAFE基于应用研究模型与企业的互动是重建中小企业弹性的切实可行的解决方案。进行实际研究并将其应用于企业或行业的能力是成功的关键-对于企业,员工以及最终的经济而言。

思科,Optus和TDA已联手生产 中小企业和TAFE通过应用研究合作促进增长,该报告建议澳大利亚政府投资应用研究模型的一年试点,在该试验中,TAFE与中小企业合作开发或增强产品并改善服务和流程。

该报告是从15年来在加拿大高校成功进行应用研究中汲取的经验教训得出的。加拿大人做得很好。在2017-2018年,加拿大各大专院校的研究活动带来了4,400多种新工艺,产品,原型和服务。这些结果中大约有87%在不到一年的时间内就达到了。创新取得切实成果?是的,请。

完整的报告,可以查看 这里,因此有必要在COVID恢复中使用创新,包括投资TAFE机构基于实践的创新。它通过霍尔姆斯格兰学院(Holmesglen Institute)的水工业和昆士兰州TAFE的天然气工业的案例研究,重点介绍了澳大利亚应用研究的成功实例。重要的是,对加拿大政府建设加拿大大学能力的过程进行的分析表明,投资澳大利亚非大学部门的应用研究能力是有好处的。

在思科和Optus的支持下,这项澳大利亚中小企业和家族企业研究计划是TDA代表澳大利亚人民及其社区提出的一系列及时创新的公共政策计划的一部分,以供政府考虑。它是对先前计划的补充, 蓝色技术和数字技能在澳大利亚经济复苏中的关键作用 让澳大利亚政府与行业和TAFE合作,在包括中小企业和家族企业在内的蓝色科技和数字技能发展方面采取更大的国家行动。

“必要性是发明之母”这一表述意味着,需求或问题通常会鼓励创造性的努力来满足该需求或解决该问题。听起来有点像应用研究,而且需求从未像现在这样大。

分享到twitter
推特
分享到linkedin
领英
分享到facebook
脸书

How applied research can support Australia’s post-COVID economic recovery

05 November 2020

Applied Research. You hear it talked about often enough in circles of learned individuals. But what does it actually mean? Who does it and why? And why does Australia need it now more than ever for its post-COVID economic recovery?

Applied research does suffer from a somewhat uninspiring name. Maybe if it was renamed as ‘research solving real world problems for businesses’, it may get more interest and better traction in Australia. Applied research is in fact a targeted intervention to bring technology and know-how to solve real-world production and service issues within small to medium enterprises (SMEs). Granted, a bit of a mouthful.

As Australia seeks to return to pre-COVID economic activity, SMEs will need targeted and sustained support. Businesses emerging from COVID-19 are likely to pursue transformation, however, they face significant challenges in accessing services and the support needed to adapt. TAFEs’ engagement with businesses based on an applied research model is one tangible and practical solution to rebuilding resilience in SMEs. The capability to undertake practical research and apply it into the business or industry is the key to success – for the business, employees and ultimately the economy.

Cisco, Optus and TDA have teamed up to produce SMEs and TAFEs Collaborating through Applied Research for Growth, a report which recommends Australian Government investment in a one year pilot of an applied research model where TAFEs collaborate with SMEs to develop or enhance products and improve services and processes.

The report has been informed by lessons learned from 15 years of successful applied research in Canadian colleges. The Canadians do it very well as it happens. In 2017-2018, research activity in Canadian colleges and institutes led to more than 4,400 new processes, products, prototypes and services. Approximately 87 per cent of these results were achieved in less than a year. Innovation with tangible results? Yes please.

The full report, which can be viewed here, makes the case for the place of innovation in a COVID recovery, including for investing in TAFE institute practice-based innovation. It highlights successful examples of applied research in Australia through case studies at Holmesglen Institute for the water industry and TAFE Queensland for the gas industry. Importantly, an analysis of the journey the Canadian Government has taken in building the capacity of Canadian colleges demonstrates the benefit of investing in applied research capacity in the non-university sector here in Australia.

This Australian SME and family business research initiative, supported by Cisco and Optus, is part of a suite of timely and innovative public policy initiatives TDA is bringing forward for government consideration on behalf of the Australian people and their communities. It complements an earlier initiative, Critical Role of Blue Tech and Digital Skills in Australia’s Economic Recovery for the Australian Government to work with industry and TAFEs for greater national action on developing blue tech and digital skills, including for SMEs and family businesses.

The expression ‘necessity is the mother of invention’ means that a need or problem often encourages creative efforts to meet that need, or solve that problem. It sounds a bit like applied research, and the need has never been greater than now.

Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on facebook
Facebook