基于实践的创新和应用研究以及TAFE

创新不只是从科学,研究开始到最终过渡到商业世界的线性旅程。商业转型也可以起源于基于实践的创新和应用研究。基于实践和应用研究的创新方法在创新的两个子系统之间的相互作用下运作, 知识的获取和吸收知识的转化和利用.

基于实践的创新和应用研究,即通过进行,使用和交互驱动的创新,与基于科学和技术的创新一样有效。公司和行业中的创新的四个组成部分可能包括:产品(商品/服务);生产过程(基于地点或分配);分销或物流链;组织(为什么组织以及如何组织);和营销(生产者和消费者)。所有这些创新类型都是TAFE的自然领域,包括职业教育,培训和高等教育,这些组成部分在基于实践的创新和应用研究的TAFE /企业/行业/学生生态系统中表现最佳。

中小企业和TAFE通过应用研究合作促进增长

作为研究人员,行业和政府之间更广泛的研究和行业合作的一部分,TDA致力于在澳大利亚高等教育界基于实践的创新和应用研究。无论是理论研究,其利用知识产权进行下游商业化,还是澳大利亚各地的TAFE与当地企业和雇主合作时,知识的获取和吸收以及知识的转化和利用。

中小型企业(SME)和家族企业是澳大利亚经济的支柱,创造了约700万个工作岗位,占澳大利亚国内生产总值的57%,并巩固了澳大利亚作为企业家国家的声誉。在就业方面,中小型企业和家族企业占澳大利亚雇用企业总数的99.5%以上。澳大利亚经济中约有240万活跃企业,其中约99%的营业额少于$2百万。

澳大利亚总理阁下。国会议员斯科特·莫里森(Scott Morrison)公开表示:“当我担任司库时,曾经让我感到非常沮丧,这曾经使我感到困扰,中小型企业(尤其是小型企业)尚未采用数字技术尽可能快。这阻碍了他们。那是无奈。” 

然而,与此同时,中小企业和家族企业也感到沮丧!援引Business SA首席执行官马丁·海斯(Martin Haese)的话说,研究合作被抑制了。除非他的成员有一个非常具体的问题或确切地知道该向谁求助,否则寻求合作或博士学位研究人员的结果是“徒劳的”。

我们鼓励澳大利亚总理和商业协会与TAFE合作,开展基于实践的创新和应用研究。思科,Optus和TDA联手制作了一份报告,建议澳大利亚政府对应用研究模型进行为期一年的试验投资,在该试验中TAFE与中小型企业合作开发或增强产品并改善服务和流程: 中小企业和TAFE通过应用研究合作促进增长。

如果您想讨论基于实践的创新和应用研究的方法,请首先联系 rjackson@tda.edu.au 或拨打0418 979 031。

墨尔本基地 麦肯齐研究所 提倡从技术和继续教育的角度出发,以循证为基础,改革澳大利亚的高等教育。它力求创造并倡导可以改善澳大利亚工业界和更广泛社区的高等教育的想法,为学生提供更多获得成功的机会。

维多利亚TAFE

TAFE知道如何与各种规模的企业以及在其发展的各个阶段进行合作。将这种良好的理解应用于协作应用研究中的问题解决和思想发展,对于成功地为行业,公司,中小企业和家族企业以及TAFE学生进行应用研究而言,是TAFE必不可少的途径。维多利亚州TAFE学院提供更好的实践 实例探究 在基于实践的创新和应用研究中:

  • 墨尔本理工学院的葡萄酒酿造
  • GOTAFE造船
  • 混合,戈登TAFE体验
  • 霍姆斯格兰学院的应用研究能力
  • 康安学院的纺织和时装中心
  • 奇索姆研究所的伯威克技术教育中心

在这里阅读更多。          

许多TAFE的教育者和培训者已经在他们自己的教学实践中向行业和社区合作伙伴展示了基于实践的创新和应用研究。 指引 for Victorian TAFE Institutes支持和指导TAFE教育工作者和培训师促进行业和社区参与,丰富学生的学习和培训教育历程,并发展教师基于实践的创新和应用研究的能力。 在此处阅读有关此更好做法的更多信息。 

全球职业教育与培训背景下的应用研究

世界高等理工学院联合会(WFCP)在其领导下重新成立了应用研究相似性小组 特尼卡职业教育应用研究与创新巴斯克中心

第一次会议 应用研究相似性小组 将于2020年9月在线举行,以定义该年度的工作计划。

这是建立在应用研究亲和力小组在 WFCP世界大会 于2018年10月在澳大利亚墨尔本举行,维多利亚州TAFE协会在2018年的基础上就应用研究和TAFE进行了讨论 开创性论文.

TDA的首席执行官Craig Robertson先生是现任WFCP主席。

澳大利亚国家职业教育研究中心:VET中的应用研究

通过应用研究,VET可以为创新体系做出贡献,使澳大利亚企业能够继续在国际市场上竞争。这份重要的2017 NCVER分析说明 方式和方式;必须阅读以进行独立分析。

Practice-based Innovation and Applied Research and TAFE

Innovation is more than the linear journey starting with science, research, and hopefully ending with transformation to the commercial world.  Commercial transformation can also have its origins in practice-based innovation and applied research.  A practice-based and applied research approach to innovation operates at the interaction between the two sub-systems of innovation – acquisition and assimilation of knowledge and transformation and exploitation of knowledge.

Practice-based innovation and applied research, innovation driven by doing, using, and interacting, is as valid as science and technology-based innovation. The four components of innovation within firms and industries may cover: product (goods/services); processes of production (place based or distributive); distribution or logistic chains; organisational (why organise and how); and marketing (producer and consumer).  All these innovation types are the natural domain of TAFE, both vocational education and training and higher education, with these components responding best in a TAFE/firm/industry/student eco-system of practice-based innovation and applied research.

SMEs and TAFEs Collaborating through Applied Research for Growth

TDA is committed to practice-based innovation and applied research in the Australian tertiary education sector, as part of broader research and industry collaboration between researchers, industry, and government. Whether that is theoretical research, which leverages intellectual property for downstream commercialisation, or the acquisition and assimilation of knowledge and transformation and exploitation of knowledge in the case of TAFEs across Australia engaging with local industry and employers.

Small and medium enterprises (SMEs) and family businesses are the backbone of the Australian economy creating around 7 million jobs, contributing 57 per cent of Australia’s gross domestic product, and cementing Australia’s reputation as a nation of entrepreneurs.  In terms of employment, SMEs and family businesses account for over 99.5 per cent of all employing Australian businesses. There are about 2.4 million active businesses in the Australian economy with around 99 per cent with a turnover of less than $2 million.

The Prime Minister of Australia, the Hon. Scott Morrison MP, has publicly stated: “When I was Treasurer, it used to really frustrate me, I’ve got to say, it used to trouble me that small and medium sized businesses, particularly small, were not yet taking up digital technology as fast as they could. And this was holding them back. That was the frustration.” 

Yet at the same time, SMEs and family businesses are also frustrated! As the Business SA Chief Executive Martin Haese was quoted as saying research collaboration was being inhibited. Unless his members had a very specific problem or knew exactly who to approach in a university, the search for collaboration or a PhD researcher had a “fruitless outcome”.

We encourage the Prime Minister and business associations across Australia to work in collaboration with TAFEs to engage in practice-based innovation and applied research. Cisco, Optus, and TDA have teamed up to produce a report that recommends the Australian Government investment in a one year pilot of an applied research model where TAFEs collaborate with SMEs to develop or enhance products and improve services and processes: SMEs and TAFEs Collaborating through Applied Research for Growth.

If you would like to discuss an approach to practice-based innovation and applied research please contact, in the first instance, Mr Ronald Jackson at rjackson@tda.edu.au or on 0418 979 031.

The Melbourne based Mackenzie Research Institute advocates, from a technical and further education perspective on an evidence-based rationale, for the reform of tertiary education in Australia.  It seeks to create and advocate ideas that can improve tertiary education in Australia for industry and the wider community, providing greater student opportunities for access and success.

Victorian TAFEs

TAFEs know how to work with businesses of all sizes and at all stages of their development.  Applying that sound understanding to collaborative applied research problem solving and idea development is an essential TAFE pathway for successful applied research for industries, firms, SMEs and family businesses, and for TAFE students.  Victorian TAFE Institutes provide better practice Case Studies in practice-based innovation and applied research with:

  • Winemaking at Melbourne Polytechnic
  • GOTAFE Boatbuilding
  • BlendED, The Gordon TAFE Experience
  • Holmesglen Institute’s Applied Research Capability
  • Kangan Institute’s Textile and Fashion Hub
  • Chisholm Institute’s Berwick Technical Education Centre

Read more here.          

Many TAFE educators and trainers already demonstrate practice-based innovation and applied research in their own teaching practice for and with industry and community partners. A Guide for Victorian TAFE Institutes supports and guides TAFE educators and trainers for industry and community engagement, enriching the student learning and training educational journey, and developing teacher capability in practice-based innovation and applied research. Read more about this better practice here. 

Applied Research in a Global VET context

The World Federation of Colleges and Polytechnics (WFCP) is relaunching its Applied Research Affinity Group under the leadership of Tknika, the Basque Centre of Applied Research and Innovation in VET

The first meeting of the Applied Research Affinity Group will be held online in September 2020 to define the work plan for the year.

This builds off the Applied Research Affinity Group presentation at the WFCP World Congress in Melbourne Australia in October 2018, at which the Victorian TAFE Association lead a discussion on Applied Research and TAFE based on its 2018 seminal paper.

The CEO of TDA, Mr Craig Robertson, is the current WFCP Chair.

Australia’s National Centre for Vocational Education Research: Applied Research in VET

Through applied research, VET can contribute to the innovation system enabling Australian businesses to continue to compete in international markets. This important 2017 NCVER analysis explains how and in what way; a must read for independent analysis.