大型机构如何转型的详细见解– Chisholm Institute

介绍

作为一项基本服务,奇斯霍尔姆研究所一直在运作,并与维多利亚州教育与培训部(DET)和卫生与公共服务部(DHHS)密切合作,以计划和应对艾滋病的当前和潜在影响在我们的学生,员工和更广泛的社区中传播冠状病毒(COVID-19)。迄今为止,我们还没有报告或确认的病毒病例。

在大流行爆发时,Chisholm学院有近27,000名学生管理着岸上和近海,以及近1,200名员工,合作伙伴组织,雇主,当地学校和更广泛的社区。当时的Chisholm学生人数包括:

  • 在岸和在岸学生总数为26,899;
  • 21,115名在岸学生,其中包括3,557名中学生的VET;
  • 位于墨尔本东南部124所学校的200门课程,其中30门交付给VET。
  • 1200名员工–由专职,兼职和临时教师,专业行政支持人员,经理和执行人员组成。

目前,所有在岸交付已转移到在线和/或远程进行,并于5月4日星期一返回校园,为数不多的课程,这些课程需要实践活动和/或评估以促进学习,或在工作之前评估技能。大部分原定于四月开始的课程都推迟到第二学期开始。

目前,Chisholm已处理了541次正式提款,比去年同期低28%。

在短短的两个星期(包括复活节假期)中,奇斯霍尔姆采取了以下措施:

员工管理

  • 与员工谈判达成临时弹性工作安排;
  • 协调了大多数工作人员远程工作的要求,包括使用笔记本电脑和其他工作设备,上网,年假,陪护假和其他谈判安排的安排,以支持托儿安排,家庭教育和其他个人情况;
  • 员工获得员工援助计划(EAP)的机会增加,该计划的需求激增;
  • 为员工设置健康中心,包括访问Springday应用程序;
  • 与工会进行协商,以使他们了解进展情况;
  • 为远程工作和恢复校园交付制定了指导方针;
  • 制定和完善业务连续性,大流行和恢复计划;
  • 建立了一个COVID交流小组,以使研究所的所有领域随时了解正在采取的行动;
  • 通过每周分发三期的“人民谈话”通讯与研究所的所有工作人员进行定期交流;
  • 为教学人员提供了广泛的Zoom,Moodle和在线交付培训。已经实施了一项运营计划,以确保所有人员都经过充分培训,可以在在线环境中为学生提供支持;
  • 为学生开发了Zoom,Moodle和在线学习指南,以为他们提供在线学习环境的支持。

营销与传播

市场营销和交流的主要重点是与学生和更广泛的社区进行交流。在过去的一个月中,进行了以下工作:

  • 在过去的一个月中,已分发了五本学生通讯,包括针对国际和高等教育学生的通用和量身定制的通讯;
  • 已向所有学生发送了定期的电子邮件通信,概述了通过Chisholm提供的支持,并且还为交付区域提供了量身定制的电子邮件,以便向学生发送有关第二学期交付信息的信息。
  • 与我们的VETDSS计划合作,已向中学提供了定期的电子邮件通信,并且已向这些学生发送了量身定制的通信。
  • 电子邮件通信已与其他主要社区联系人一起发送给了东南部的地方,州和联邦政客。
  • 在过去的一个月中,已经管理了70多个电子邮件和社交媒体查询,直接帮助学生或将学生与相关部门或个人联系起来。
  • 已经开发了专用的COVID-19网站登录页面,并每天审核和更新Web内容。
  • 已开发并共享了针对气候的社交媒体和博客内容。
  • 内部和外部电话线的保留消息已更新,以反映Chisholm的COVID-19响应。
  • 市场营销与传播部与人,文化和安全部一起为Wellbeing Covid-19 SharePoint / Internet网站的开发提供了支持。
  • 社交媒体社区参与度(互动次数)同比增长139%,从2019年3月的6076增加到2020年的14,510,因为学生们希望了解奇绍姆对Covid-19的回应
  • 市场营销部门一直在开展一项试点项目,以在线开展各种招聘活动。首次在线互动信息课程将于5月/ 6月在Chisholm-La Trobe会计学学士课程团队中进行试点。

学生支持和参与

所有的学生支持和参与服务,包括个人咨询,财务支持和职业教育,都可以远程提供。即使去年的需求增加了173%,对咨询服务的请求也开始增加,并且工作人员将通过远程设置的社交俱乐部和小组为学生提供在此期间保持联系的机会。服务可通过多种渠道获得,包括电话,缩放,网络聊天,电子邮件以及通过图书馆网站和图书馆聊天选项。所有服务的需求稳定,并且跟踪的60%比去年同期高。

学生服务已成为通过专门的学生支持Moodle网站提供服务的交付内容。该空间将包括服务信息,带有问答环节(例如,正念,预算管理等)的实时直播研讨会,教育资料和社交机会。预计Moodle内容将完成,并且该网站将于4月底上线。这将首次通过便利和可访问的渠道提供24/7服务交付。 

 

财务支持服务正在管理经历财务危机的学生,并且已经开展了大量工作来为学生提供建议,信息和推荐选项。这些信息都可以在“财务支持”页面上找到。财务支持服务人员也在管理学生的笔记本电脑贷款计划,而Chisholm要求提供近100台笔记本电脑。正在进行进一步的工作以访问wi-fi互联网加密狗,该加密狗也将根据需要提供给学生。

学生经历

学生体验工作人员继续处理所有校园中的学生查询和入学申请,并且仍然有少数工作人员在Dandenong,Frankston,Berwick和Cranbourne的校园中工作,以支持临时查询和入学。大多数注册过程都经过修改,可以与申请人远程完成,并且进展顺利。在过去的两周中,我们已收到近400份申请和220多个注册。  

已在学生体验空间附近设置了计算机,供可能需要使用计算机和/或Wi-Fi才能完成其在学学习的学生使用。学生体验人员正在监督这些区域,并且在这些空间中严格遵守社交疏离和卫生习惯。  

卡罗琳·奇斯霍尔姆教育基金会(CCEF)

卡罗琳·奇斯霍尔姆教育基金会(Caroline Chisholm Education Foundation)开展了广泛的工作,以支持现有的奖学金持有者并支持遭受经济困难的本地学生。已与CCEF奖学金获得者联系,以告知他们可获得的支持,并已转介了许多学生寻求帮助。

寻求法律咨询,以确定基金会是否可以为国际学生提供帮助。该建议确认,由于CCEF的资金不能用于支持国际学生。 Chisholm直接为国际学生提供支持。

 由于基金会提供的支持,奖学金数量同比增长了近70%。  

Chisholm在线

Chisholm Online目前完全在线提供20门课程,并迅速开展了营销活动,以鼓励社区成员留在家中学习。该活动-留在家中并追逐您的电话非常成功,由于产生了许多查询,该活动已提前撤回。呼叫中心已升级,可以管理查询数量,并可以重新分配人员来回答查询并支持注册过程。

Chisholm还对“维多利亚工作计划”做出了回应,目前正在通过该计划在线提供六门免费TAFE免费课程。

高等教育

所有高等教育课程都已转移到远程授课,以支持学生。 Chisholm最近已申请通过“高等教育减免”套餐提供高等教育短期课程。如果成功,这些将在五月开始交付。

设施,卫生和信息技术支持

在所有校园中都进行了广泛的工作,以确保员工,学生和更广泛社区的健康,安全和福祉。活动已合并到研究所的四个主要校园中,并整合到每个校园的特定建筑物中。购买了洗手液,消毒湿巾和一次性手套,并根据需要提供。 

一旦教职员工和学生进行远程工作,咖啡馆和图书馆就将关闭。严格的社会疏离制度被实施到空间中,并竖立了地面和墙壁标牌

设置了远程IT支持,以支持学生和教职员工解决远程工作中遇到的任何IT问题。

有关Chisholm对冠状病毒的反应的更多信息,请参见 Chisholm网站。

分享到twitter
推特
分享到linkedin
领英
分享到facebook
脸书

Detailed insights into how a large institution is transforming – Chisholm Institute

Introduction

As an essential service, Chisholm Institute has been continually operational and working closely with the Victorian Department of Education and Training (DET) and the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) to plan for, and respond to, the current and potential impact of the Coronavirus (COVID-19) on our students, staff and the wider community.  To date, we have had no reported or confirmed cases of the virus.

At the time of the break-out of the pandemic, Chisholm Institute had almost 27,000 students to manage both on-shore and off-shore, along with almost 1,200 staff, partner organisations, employers, local schools and the broader community.  Chisholm student numbers at the time included:

  • 26,899 total students on and off-shore;
  • 21,115 onshore students which included 3,557 VET for Secondary School Students;
  • 200 courses of which 30 are delivered to VET for Secondary School Students located across 124 schools across the South-East of Melbourne;
  • 1,200 staff – a combination of full-time, part-time and casual teachers, professional administration support staff, managers and executive staff.

All onshore delivery has currently moved to online and/or remote, with a return to campus from Monday 4 May for a small number of courses that require practical activities and/or assessment to progress the learning, or to assess skills prior to work placement.  Most courses that were due to commence in April have been postponed to a Semester 2 commencement.

Currently Chisholm has processed 541 formal withdrawals, which is 28% lower than same time last year.

In the space two short weeks including the Easter break, Chisholm had undertaken the following:

Staff management

  • negotiated Temporary Flexible Working Arrangements with staff;
  • co-ordinated the requirements for the majority of staff members to work remotely, including access to laptops and other work equipment, internet access, combination of annual, carers leave and other negotiated arrangements to support childcare arrangements, home schooling and other personal situations;
  • Increased staff access to the Employee Assistance Program (EAP), which has seen a spike in requests;
  • Set up a wellness hub for staff including access to the Springday app;
  • Set up consultation with unions to keep them informed of progress;
  • Established guidelines for working remotely and resuming delivery on campus;
  • Developed and refined Business continuity, Pandemic and Recovery plans;
  • Developed a COVID communication group, to keep all areas of the Institute informed of actions being undertaken;
  • Provided regular communication to all staff within the Institute through “People Talk” newsletters distributed three times per week;
  • Extensive Zoom, Moodle and online delivery training provided to teaching staff. An operational plan has been implemented to ensure all staff have been sufficiently trained to support students in an online environment;
  • Zoom, Moodle and online learning guidelines developed for students to support them with the online learning environment.

Marketing and communication

A major focus for Marketing and Communication has been the communication to students and the wider community.  Over the past month the following has been undertaken:

  • Five Student Newsletters have been distributed over the past month, including generic and tailored communications to international and Higher Education students;
  • Regular email communication has been sent to all students, outlining support available through Chisholm and tailored emails have been supported for the delivery areas to send to students regarding their term 2 delivery information.
  • Regular email communication has been provided to Secondary Schools in partnership with our VETDSS programs, and tailored communication has been sent to those students.
  • Email communication has been sent to local, state and federal politicians in the South-East along with other key community contacts.
  • More than seventy email and social media enquiries have been managed in the past month, directly assisting students or connecting students to the relevant department or individual.
  • Dedicated COVID-19 website landing pages have been developed with web content reviewed and updated daily.
  • Climate specific social media and blog content has been developed and shared.
  • Message on hold has been updated for internal and external phone lines to reflect Chisholm’s COVID-19 response.
  • Marketing & Communications have supported the development of the Wellbeing Covid-19 SharePoint/Internet site in conjunction with People, Culture and Safety.
  • Social Media Community Engagement (no. of interactions) increased by 139% YOY, from 6076 in March 2019 to 14,510 in 2020 as students sought information on Chisholm’s response to Covid-19
  • Marketing has been working on a pilot project to move various recruitment activities online. The first online interactive information session will be piloted with the Chisholm-La Trobe Bachelor of Accounting course team in May/June.

Student support and engagement

All Student Support and Engagement services including Personal Counselling, Financial support and careers education, are being delivered remotely. Requests for counselling services are starting to increase even though the demand is up 173% on last year, and staff will be setting up opportunities for students to remain connected during this time through social clubs and groups set up remotely. Services are available across a range of channels including phone, zoom, webchat, email and via the Library website and Library chat options.  Demand across all services is steady and tracking over 60% higher than same time last year.

Student Services have been delivery content for service delivery through a dedicated Student Support Moodle site. This space will include service information, live streamed workshops with Q&A (e.g. mindfulness, budget management etc) resources, educational material and social connection opportunities. It is anticipated that the Moodle content will be completed, and the site live by the end of April. This will provide, for the first time, access to service delivery 24/7 through a convenient and accessible channel. 

 

Financial support services are managing students experiencing financial crisis, and a significant piece of work has been undertaken to provide the advice, information and referral options for students.  This information is all available on the Financial Support page. Financial support services staff are also administering the laptop loan scheme for students and Chisholm has had a request for almost 100 laptops.  Further work is being undertaken to access wi-fi internet dongles that will also be provided to students as required.

Student experience

The Student Experience staff have continued to deal with student enquiries and enrolments across all campuses, and limited numbers of staff are still working on campus at Dandenong, Frankston, Berwick and Cranbourne to support walk-in enquiries and enrolments. Most enrolment processes have been modified to be completed with applicants remotely and seem to be progressing well. Over the past two weeks, we have received almost 400 applications and over 220 enrolments.  

Computers have been set up adjacent to the Student Experience spaces for students who may require access to computers and/or wi-fi to complete their on-learning learning.  Student Experience staff are supervising these areas and strict social distancing and hygiene practices are being adhered to in these spaces.  

Caroline Chisholm Education Foundation (CCEF)

Extensive work has been undertaken by the Caroline Chisholm Education Foundation to support existing scholarship holders and support domestic students suffering from financial hardship.   CCEF scholarship holders have been contacted to let them know about the support available and a number of students have been referred for assistance.

Legal advice was sought to determine whether the Foundation could provide assistance to international students.  The advice confirmed that due to the  CCEF funds cannot be used to support international students.  Chisholm is supporting international students directly.

 As an outcome of the support offered through the Foundation, the scholarship numbers are up almost 70% year on year.  

Chisholm Online

Chisholm Online currently delivers twenty courses fully online and a marketing campaign was quickly developed to encourage the community to stay at home and study.  The campaign – Stay Home and Chase Your Calling, was extremely successful and was withdrawn early due to the number of enquiries generated.  The Call Centre was upgraded to manage the number of enquiries and staff re-allocated to answer queries and support the enrolment process.

Chisholm has also responded to the Working for Victoria Initiative and is currently offering six Free TAFE courses fully on-line through this initiative.

Higher education

All Higher Education courses have moved to remote delivery to support students.  Chisholm has recently applied to deliver Higher Education short courses through the Higher Education Relief package.  If successful, these would commence delivery in May.

Facilities, health and hygiene and IT support

Extensive work has been undertaken across all campuses to ensure the health, safety and welfare of staff, students and the broader community.  Activities have been consolidated to the four main campuses of the Institute, and to specific building on each campus.  Hand sanitizer, antiseptic wipes and disposable gloves were purchased and made available as required. 

Once staff and students were working remotely, cafes and library spaces were closed.  Strict social distancing regimes were implemented into spaces that remained open with floor and wall signage erected

Remote IT support was set up to support students and staff with any IT issues experienced by working remotely.

Further information on Chisholm’s response to the Coronavirus can be found on the Chisholm website.

Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on facebook
Facebook