应对澳大利亚人口老龄化——墨尔本理工学院

2021 年 4 月 30 日

我们人口的增加和寿命意味着卫生部门的工作和职业将激增,并且对合格的护理专业人员的需求量很大。未来十年,对于墨尔本而言,北部走廊**扩建将建设以社区为基础的基础设施,包括老年护理设施,以适应不断扩大和老龄化的人口。

对工作的需求已经存在,而且只会增长。老年护理交付方式的变化意味着所有个人护理工作者都将被要求具有最低三级证书资格作为基准行业进入要求。

居家护理

虽然直接的看法可能会转向老年人的住宿护理设施,但预计会有更多的人转向综合医疗保健方法。护理人员需要提供一定程度的支持,以反映在家庭环境中提供的老年护理机构的支持。

学生 William Lin 在模拟真实生活场景的模拟工作环境中

墨尔本理工学院的老年护理和个人支持培训包也正在实施老年护理提供方式的最新变化。墨尔本理工学院的培训师兼评估员 Jacinta McMennemin 说:“我们在课堂上营造了一种团队环境,以反映学生将在行业中的体验。我们在我们的培训模型中使用场景的整体方法,以确保学生在任何情况下都能为他们的工作生活做好准备,包括在家中的场景。”

反映行业的培训设施

2017 年,墨尔本理工学院的格林斯伯勒校区被改造成一个健康和社区服务培训中心,配备了反映行业的模拟套件。加上至少 120 小时的受监督行业实习,学生还可以在这种模拟的工作场所环境中接受课堂培训。当毕业生进入劳动力市场时,他们非常熟悉他们未来工作的阴谋。提供培训的教师都在该部门工作,可以向学生提供当前的工作场所知识和实践。 Jacinta 说:“作为一名培训师和评估员,重要的是每月在该部门工作,以确保我提供的培训是最新的,我可以就最新的强制性报告和护理计划提供指导和建议”。

感染控制以应对我们的新生活方式

虽然没有人能够预测 2020 年的结果以及世界的变化方式,但墨尔本理工学院已迅速调整其健康和社区培训计划,以响应老年护理部门的要求。在与行业协商后,并根据确定需要对老年护理和残疾支持部门的工人进行感染控制培训以应对 COVID-19 大流行,“感染控制”研究单位已嵌入老年护理中和个人支持计划。学生现在毕业时对如何在每个工作场所环境中纳入和保持高水平的卫生和感染控制有了彻底的了解。

我们在墨尔本理工学院的工作是确保作为护理工作者进入老年护理环境的学生拥有切实的经验和知识。毕业生将能够立即为我们老龄化的社区提供护理和支持,并能够适应工作环境的变化和照顾对象的直接需求。

如果您有强烈的同理心,深切关心帮助弱势群体,并有专业的工作态度,请联系墨尔本理工学院开始您的职业生涯 老年护理和个人支持 这里。

*澳大利亚统计局 (ABS) 2014 年。澳大利亚历史人口统计数据,2014 年。ABS 猫。不。 3105.0.65.001。堪培拉:ABS

** 北部走廊增长计划

来源: https://www.melbournepolytechnic.edu.au/about-us/news-and-events/news/responding-to-australia-s-ageing-population/

分享到twitter
推特
分享到linkedin
领英
分享到facebook
脸书

Responding to Australia’s ageing population – Melbourne Polytechnic

30 April 2021

The increase and longevity of our population means that jobs and careers in the health sector are set to skyrocket and qualified care professionals are in high demand. Over the next decade, for Melbourne, the northern corridor** expansion will build community-based infrastructure including aged care facilities to accommodate the expanding and ageing population.

The demand for jobs already exists and will only grow. Changes to the way aged care is to be delivered going forward means all personal care workers will be required to have a minimum qualification of Certificate III as a baseline sector entry requirement.

In-home care

While immediate perceptions may turn to residential care facilities for the aged, it is predicted that there will be more people turning to an integrative health care approach. Care workers will need to provide a level of support that mirrors that of an aged care facility delivered in a home setting.

Student William Lin in a simulated workplace setting designed to mimic real life scenarios

Recent changes to the way aged care is delivered are also being implemented into Melbourne Polytechnic’s aged care and individual support training packages. Melbourne Polytechnic trainer and assessor Jacinta McMennemin says, “We’re creating a team environment in the classroom that reflects what students will experience in industry. We use a holistic approach with scenarios in our training model to ensure students are equipped for their working life in any situation including that of a home-based scenario”.

Training facilities that reflect industry

In 2017, Melbourne Polytechnic’s Greensborough campus was transformed into a health and community services training hub, complete with industry-reflective simulation suites. Together with a minimum 120 hours of supervised industry placement, students also have the benefit of receiving their in-class training in this simulated workplace setting. When graduates enter the workforce, they are very familiar with the machinations of their future work. Teachers providing training are all working in the sector and can provide current workplace knowledge and practices to students. Jacinta says, “As a trainer and assessor, it’s important to work within the sector on a monthly basis to ensure the training I provide is current and I can provide guidance and advice on up-to-date mandatory reporting and care planning”.

Infection control in response to our new way of living

While no one could have predicted the outcome of 2020 and the way the world has changed, Melbourne Polytechnic has quickly adapted its health and community training packages to respond to aged care sector requirements. After consultation with industry, and in response to the identified need for infection control training for workers in the aged care and disability support sectors as a response to the COVID-19 pandemic, an ‘infection control’ study unit has been embedded into the aged care and individual support program. Students now graduate with a thorough understanding of how to incorporate and maintain high levels of sanitisation and infection control in every workplace setting.

Our job at Melbourne Polytechnic is to ensure that students heading into the aged care environment as care workers are armed with tangible experience and knowledge. Graduates will be able to provide care and support for our ageing community immediately and be able to adapt to changes both in the work setting and for the direct needs of their care recipients.

If you have a strong sense of empathy, care deeply about helping vulnerable people and have a professional attitude to work, contact Melbourne Polytechnic about starting your career in Aged Care and Individual Support here.

*Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) 2014. Australian historical population statistics, 2014. ABS cat. no. 3105.0.65.001. Canberra: ABS

** Northern Corridor Growth Plan

Source: https://www.melbournepolytechnic.edu.au/about-us/news-and-events/news/responding-to-australia-s-ageing-population/

Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on facebook
Facebook