让舞蹈开始

TAFE总监澳大利亚首席执行官Craig Robertson

记住那些学校的舞蹈。一个充满期待的夜晚,充满了焦虑,偶尔失望地感到失望。但是你必须在那里,对吗?

您会竭尽所能,尽最大可能掩盖青少年身体的怪异现象。女孩在一边,男孩在另一边。充满浓郁的Brut 33的空气弥漫着汗水引起的焦虑。这个词给定了……找到你的伴侣。

您是一个充满边缘和支柱的人,找到最漂亮的女孩,还是最胖的男人?还是您退后一步,不确定事情的顺序?犹豫不决的脚步,扫了一眼肯定的眼神,尴尬的点头,然后跳到舞池,巨大的放松。还是您撤退到安全地带–与一群女孩一起跳舞,或者与其他男孩一起坐在角落里的口袋里跳舞。 (我的治疗师说,最好叙述一下我十几岁的创伤性事件。)

英联邦总理与州和领地之间的舞蹈于上周二开始。

在此页面上,我们对 言语。首相对职业教育提出了新的期望,但似乎认为选择太多了,并指出医院协议是未来的典范。

行业领导者支持总理的承诺,并呼吁提供更多资金,并指出《 AQF审查》是改革职业教育内容的良好起点。

穿好衣服跳舞

跳出耀斑,穿上厚底鞋跳舞。

TDA的我们将为您带来有关舞蹈的事实和评论。我们将解开索赔,反索赔和超额索赔的包装,以便您了解其含义。

即将到来的星期五,生产力委员会发布了期待已久的绿皮书,内容涉及政府层面之间的VET财务关系改革,目前被称为《国家技能与劳动力发展协议》。很难想象总理在准备演讲时会得到一份报告的高级副本。

负责技能的联邦部门教育,技能和就业部也正在为谈判做准备,周五宣布了高级职员变更。从明天开始,玛丽·麦当劳(Mary McDonald)将成立VET资金改革工作组来领导谈判,而Renae Houston将被提升为VET质量和政策的第一助理秘书,以取代Mary。

Tiffany Blight在满足VET法规要求不到六个月后,与来自MySkills的Kelly Fisher一起支持了国家职业学院,以支持学院数字平台的数据处理。完成职业教育与培训改革实施和路线图后,马修·哈迪(Matthew Hardy)担任职业教育与培训合规部门的负责人。

职业教育是最佳选择

VET的愿望已经设定。首相在他为COVID康复做准备的演讲中说,他希望“有志于从事贸易和技能工作,不要轻视或将其视为第二最佳选择,这是第一最佳选择”。他是真实的形式。他在今年早些时候说了同样的话。他将责任归咎于学生面对的系统的复杂性,通过职业教育可以提高他们的职业生涯。

太多选择

简化职业教育与培训似乎是首要策略。总理说,对于学生来说,“他们面临的资格选择面临的众多选择可能令人迷惑和不知所措。缺乏对培训提供者的质量和这些课程的就业结果的了解。”

简单。对行业要求的培训可能会下降到少于400个资格,而对提供者的教育能力的严格要求会使他们的人数减少一半。

总理呼吁推迟资格开发

总理指出,资格认证的延误-平均18个月,还有两年以上的更新时间。工业界负责资格认证的开发已有30多年了。对于TAFE而言,最令人沮丧的事情之一是,由于课程过时和脱节,他们面临的企业和学生的批评。 TAFE必须等待资格更新,否则就有可能在培训计划之外提供职业教育,并有可能受到ASQA的制裁。

观看此空间以获取有关更新VET资格的更多信息。

行业欢迎职业教育与培训改革的承诺,资金增加

澳大利亚商业委员会首席执行官Jennifer Westacott AO
Ai集团首席执行官Innes Willox
香农·芬蒂曼(Shannon Fentiman)议员
澳大利亚商会首席执行官James Pearson

行业组织对总理对技能和培训体系进行广泛改革的承诺做出了积极反应。

澳大利亚商业理事会 他说,鉴于COVID-19在培训系统中暴露出的缺陷,总理的计划是可喜的一步。

首席执行官詹妮弗·韦斯特科特(Jennifer Westacott)说:“我们的技能体系笨拙而过时,职业教育与培训与高等教育之间的资金扭曲导致技能失配,工人和学生没有做出正确决策所需的信息。” 

Westacott女士还告诉 ABC RN早餐 这项改革必须消除“文化和资金上的偏见”,这种偏见会导致一些人在更好地获得VET资格时就读大学。

“我们必须提高职业教育与培训的质量,我们必须确保行业绝对扎根于制定所需的课程,所需的课程的过程中,以便我们为工作人员提供培训将会在市场上销售。”

爱集团 他说,总理的职业教育与培训路线图必须雄心勃勃,并包括额外的资金。

首席执行官英尼斯·威洛克斯(Innes Willox)表示:“目前的融资安排是不可接受的,前后不一致的。”

“联邦与各州之间全新的资助协议必须解决有效的国家定价问题,并更好地协调补贴,贷款和其他资助的结合,并解决整个职业教育和培训十年来下降的趋势。

“职业技术教育与培训系统大修一定不能在这里停止。为实施修订后的《澳大利亚资格框架》,必须加快工作步伐,从而实现改进的,适合目的的当代职业资格。” 

国家学徒就业网 他说,改革为复兴在COVID危机期间衰落的学徒制提供了机会。

首席执行官Dianne Dayhew表示:“整个州和地区的技能培训方法不同,令人感到沮丧。”

“这创造了不同的资金和许可模式,课程的多样化,可负担性不一致以及在提供关键技能开发方面的效率低下。”

美国广播公司来自TDA和AiGroup的行业代表以及昆士兰州培训和技能发展部长Shannon Fentiman讨论了VET系统挣扎的一些原因。

TDA首席执行官克雷格·罗伯森(Craig Robertson)表示,随着行业拉动杠杆作用,课程方向很大程度上不受TAFE的控制。

他说:“在过去的10到15年中,行业一直在推动职业教育与培训的课程,这是我们必须达到的目标。”

“我认为发生的事情是,我们最终试图对特定工作的需求如此具体,以致于交付它变得非常复杂,而且实际上也非常昂贵。”

AiGroup劳动力发展负责人梅根·莉莉(Megan Lilly)表示,转向全国有效的定价和基于活动的资金筹措是改革计划中至关重要的关键步骤。

她说:“这不是天真,这将是一项非常大的工作,但却是一项非常重要的门槛工作。”

礼来女士还强调,需要在改革过程中实施最近修订的《澳大利亚资格框架》。  

香农部长范蒂曼(Shannon Fentiman)部长欢迎将联邦职业教育与培训(VET)资金分配给各州的想法,但警告说,这需要增加英联邦的支出。 

她说:“如果我们希望看到更多的学生入学,更多的学徒和学员,那么我们将比现在所需要的要多得多。”

澳大利亚工商会 (ACCC)也欢迎承诺的VET改革和资金承诺。

首席执行官詹姆斯·皮尔森(James Pearson)表示:“但是,人们希望职业教育与培训不必等到改革完成后再进行投资,因为最大的问题之一就是职业教育与培训缺乏持续的,整体的资金增长。” 。 “这是需要进行的最大的单一改革。” 

Ziffer表达了热爱职业教育与培训的人们的情感

ABC财经记者,银行皇家委员会个人回忆录《银行家的冲动》(A Wunch of Bankers)的作者丹尼尔·齐弗(Daniel Ziffer)在上周二晚上的《美国广播公司电视新闻》报道中指出了职业教育与培训部门面临的实际问题。

指一个 报告 他说,由米切尔研究所(Mitchell Institute)在2019年出版

“该行业面临着大量的资金削减。州政府和学生承担大部分费用。州政府在过去十年中减少了资金投入。但是联邦政府通过向私立大学开放该部门,并通过向学生提供贷款来促进这一领域,对TAFE起到了打击作用。”

政府在职业教育和培训领域对教育提供的投资(2018 $000,000)

资料来源:Hurley,P.和Van Dyke,N.(2019)。澳大利亚在教育方面的投资:职业教育和培训。墨尔本米切尔学院。

引入私立营利性大学和失败的VET FEE HELP贷款计划对该行业造成了严重破坏,导致声誉严重受损。毫无价值的机构给许多学生留下了沉重的债务和不完整的课程。他加了:

“这真是一场惨败。许多学生被无价值的机构所欠,包括巨额债务和不完整的课程,如没有厨房的烹饪学校。该计划虽然被取消,但对该行业的声誉造成了巨大损害。”

麦肯齐研究所的布鲁斯·麦肯齐(Bruce Mackenzie)指出,让私营部门,营利性提供者接受教育的“愚蠢政策”行不通,并且“以大学为中心,以牺牲职业教育和培训为代价”进一步加剧了这种情况。

现在迫切需要一种可持续的职业教育与培训资金模式,以扭转参与人数下降的趋势,在质量和效率之间取得适当的平衡。

麦肯齐研究院布鲁斯·麦肯齐(Bruce Mackenzie)

总理表示支持TAFE

总理已将莫里森政府对职业教育与培训的资金与对公立医院采取的方法联系起来。他说:“我们的国家医院协议实际上为我要推进的变革提供了一个很好的模型。整合国家有效的定价和基于活动的融资模式将是真正的进步。”

医院协议是理想的蓝图。它仅为公立医院提供资金,并接受其在卫生保健中的核心作用。 TDA首席执行官克雷格·罗伯森(Craig Robertson)在布里斯班电台早些时候回应电话,称私人提供商更灵活,他说:

您需要TAFE,就像需要公立医院一样。但是公立医院并不能照顾所有的健康需求,因此您需要能够与其他提供者进行补充。我们还没有一个合理的方法。如果总理准备坐下来以合理的态度与各州和地区一起工作,那将是一件好事。

现在是对竞争盲目相信的时候了,因为可以将对职业教育与培训的感知疾病的念头抛在一边。澳大利亚对于新一轮生产力增长的深层次技能需求不会来自培训计划和租用办公室。只有澳大利亚各地的TAFE才能提供深厚的专业知识,行业广度和学习资金。

正如克雷格继续说的那样:

在过去的几个月中,通过国家内阁已明显证明的一件事是,国家紧急情况需要共同和统一的努力,而要使澳大利亚摆脱COVID危机并重振经济,您需要一个非常强大的VET系统,TAFE是它的基础。

大力支持采纳AQF提案

行业代表呼吁政府继续进行由Peter Noonan教授领导的小组提议并于去年下半年移交给政府的澳大利亚资格框架的下一阶段改革。

教育部长Dan Tehan单方面接受了所有与高等教育有关的建议,并且已经通过引入高等教育证书来修改设计,该证书甚至没有在小组的报告中进行注册。

同时,影响职业教育和培训的建议被技能部长所束之高阁,尚无决定的迹象。第一步是启动在VET中定义微证书的过程,但高级官员仍在进行。

安踏再次

在澳大利亚学习VET的历史的学生会发现,我们今天所面临的条件与ANTA起源时所面临的条件是一致的。

澳大利亚国家培训局(ANTA)于1992年成立,是英联邦的法定机构,旨在跨政府协调技能开发的动力,以摆脱1990年代的衰退。它是在保罗·基廷(Paul Keating)和英超(Premier)之间进行轻柔的舞蹈之后建立的,目的是将VET的职责移交给英联邦,但基廷忘记告诉正在与新南威尔士州州长约翰·法赫(John Fahey)进行谈判的金·比兹利(Kim Beazley),所有其他英超总理都同意了。 Fahey支持,ANTA出生了。您只能想象如果Fahey屈服,今天的结果,如果他和Beazley都知道董事会的情况,就会发生很多想法。

基廷在掌权后解散了霍克总理会议,转而支持澳大利亚政府委员会的模式,主要是为了遏制霍克的调情,将提高税收的权力移交给各州。

展望今天,我们有了JobMaker,期待已久的技能开发重点,改革后的国家决策体系结构以及在联邦会议厅设立国家技能委员会的法案。

总理在星期二的讲话中拒绝了英联邦的任何收购意图。

但是,ANTA并没有太大的作用!许多老朋友会批准。

当第一任部长谈论职业教育与培训时,也许他们会唤起伟大的乐队精神,推动许多舞蹈– 认识我,认识你,也许这是我们所能做的最好的.

国家协定的事实

$1.5b的很多内容都由总理和现金部长引用,他们不得不交由各州和各领地,却看不到支出或问责制。

《国家技能和劳动力发展协议》(NASWD)是正式协议,规定了将特定目的付款转移到各州和地区以实现特定目的。这种做法是伯爵·佩奇(Earl Page)出任总理时开始的,当时他想花钱在各州赖以生存的乡村道路上。奇怪的是,联邦政府在交出这笔钱时感到很无助,因为这笔钱是在联邦预算中授权并通过《联邦金融关系法》(FFR)正式拨款的,两者均由联邦负责。

FFR成立于2009年,是陆克文(Kevin Rudd)对联邦改革的一部分。特定目的付款在续约时不会遭受无休止的政治斗争。讨价还价是为了建立改革伙伴关系而进行的,联邦提供了额外的资金。两者都赋予州和地区自治权来管理适合其情况的系统,并且责任制是通过COAG改革委员会(CRC)行使的,该委员会监督联邦财务关系的绩效。托尼·阿伯特(Tony Abbott)废除了该委员会,在他的联邦改革议程脱离轨道之后,一切都没有落实。

很难看到除了联邦政府以外,还有谁要责怪这个人。

玛丽安·奥洛林(MaryAnn O'Loughlin)是CRC的首任首席执行官,现在在新南威尔士州政府负责VET,并将在谈判中发挥重要作用。密切关注问责制安排将很有趣。

分享到twitter
推特
分享到linkedin
领英
分享到facebook
脸书

Let the Dance Begin

Craig Robertson, CEO, TAFE Directors Australia

Remember those school dances. A night of great anticipation, full of anxiety, lots of letdown with occasional triumph. But you had to be there, right?

You put on your finest to cover as best you can the oddities of a teenage body. The girls mingle on one side, boys the other. The air is thick with Brut 33 cut with body odour from sweat inducing anxiety. The word is given… find your partner.

Were you the one full of brim and strut finding the prettiest girl, or the hunkiest of guys? Or did you hang back, not sure of your place in the order of things? Hesitant steps, scanning the line for an affirming glance, the awkward nod and then on to the dance floor, and huge relief. Or did you retreat to safe ground – dancing with a group of girls or hands in pocket clustered in the corner with the other boys. (My therapist said it would be good recounting the more traumatic events of my teens.)

The dance between the Commonwealth and the states and territories was kicked off by the Prime Minister last Tuesday.

On this page we provide some reflections on the speech. The Prime Minister has set new expectations of vocational education but seems to think there is too much choice and points to the hospital agreement as a model for the future.

Industry leaders supported the Prime Minister’s commitment and called for more funding and point to the AQF Review as a good starting point for reform of vocational education content.

Get dressed for the dance

Get the flares out and the platform shoes on for the dance.

We at TDA will bring you the facts and comment about the dance.  We’ll unpack the claims, counter‑claims and over-claims so you can understand the implications.

This coming Friday the Productivity Commission releases its much-awaited green paper on reforms to VET financial relationship between levels of government, currently known as the National Agreement for Skills and Workforce Development. It’s not too hard to imagine that the Prime Minister had an advanced copy of the report in preparing his speech.

The Department of Education, Skills and Employment, the federal department responsible for skills is also gearing up for the negotiation, with senior staff changes announced on Friday. From tomorrow Mary McDonald will establish the VET Funding Reform Taskforce to lead negotiations, and Renae Houston is promoted to First Assistant Secretary, VET Quality and Policy, replacing Mary.

Tiffany Blight, after less than six months in VET compliance moves to bolster the National Careers Institute along with Kelly Fisher who moves from MySkills to support the data crunching for the Institute digital platform. Having completed the VET reform implementation and the Road Map, Matthew Hardy moves to head up the VET compliance division.

VET is first best option

The aspiration for VET has been set. The Prime Minister said in his headland speech for COVID recovery that he wants ‘trade and skills jobs to be aspired to, not looked down upon or seen as a second best option, it is a first best option’. He is true to form. He said the same earlier in the year. He places blame on the complexity of the system facing students, whose careers would be enhanced through vocational education.

Too much choice

Streamlining of VET seems to be the first up strategy. The Prime Minister said that for students, ‘the large number of choices that they face for qualifications can be bewildering and overwhelming. Compounded by a lack of visibility over the quality of training providers and the employment outcomes for those courses.’

Simple.  Training for industry requirements could come down to less than 400 qualifications and stringent requirements on the education capability of providers would halve their number.

Prime Minister calls out delays in qualification development

The Prime Minister called out the delays in developing qualifications – an average of 18 months, with many over two years to update. Industry has had responsibility for qualifications development for over 30 years. One of the most frustrating things for TAFEs is the criticism they face from businesses and students for courses being out of date and out of touch. TAFEs must wait for qualifications to be updated, otherwise they risk offering vocational education outside of the training package and at risk of sanction from ASQA.

Watch this space for more views about modernising VET qualifications.

Industry welcomes promise of VET reform, funding boost

Jennifer Westacott AO, CEO, Business Council of Australia
Innes Willox, Chief Executive, Ai Group
Shannon Fentiman MP
James Pearson, CEO, Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Industry organisations reacted positively to the Prime Minister’s commitment to broad reform of the skills and training system.

The Business Council of Australia said the PM’s plan was a welcome step, in light of the flaws that COVID-19 had exposed in the training system.

“Our skills system is clunky and out-dated, distorted funding between VET and Higher Education has created a skills mismatch and workers and students don’t have the information they need to make good decisions,” Chief Executive Jennifer Westacott said. 

Ms Westacott also told ABC RN Breakfast that reform had to remove “the cultural and funding bias” that sends some people to university when they would be better doing a VET qualification.

“We’ve got to get the quality of VET up and we’ve got to make sure that industry is absolutely embedded in the process of working out what courses we need, what curriculum we need so that we’re training people for the jobs that are going to be in the market.”

Ai Group said the PM’s VET roadmap needed to be ambitious and include additional funding.

“Current funding arrangements are unacceptably inconsistent and incoherent,” Chief Executive Innes Willox said.

“A completely new funding agreement between the Commonwealth and the States must address efficient national pricing, and better coordinate the combination of subsidies, loans and other funding, as well as addressing the decade-long decline in overall VET funding.

“The VET system overhaul must not stop here. Work must progress at pace to implement the revised Australian Qualification Framework thereby enabling improved, fit-for-purpose contemporary vocational qualifications,” he said. 

The National Apprentice Employment Network said the reforms provided a chance to revive the apprenticeship system which had declined during the COVID crisis.

“There is frustration with the different approaches to skills training across state and territories,” CEO Dianne Dayhew said.

“This has created varying funding and licensing models, diverse availability of courses, inconsistent affordability and inefficiencies in delivering crucial skills development.”

Speaking on ABC PM, industry representatives from TDA and AiGroup, as well as the Queensland Minister for Training and Skills Development Shannon Fentiman discussed some of the reasons why the VET system has struggled.

TDA CEO Craig Robertson said course direction was largely out of the hands of TAFE, with industry pulling the levers.

“Industry has really been driving the curriculum for VET for the last 10 to 15 years and this is the point that we’ve got to,” he said.

“I think what’s happened is we’ve ended up trying to be so specific about the needs of a particular job that it has is become very complex to deliver against and, in fact, very costly.”

AiGroup Head of Workforce Development Megan Lilly said a move to nationally efficient pricing and activity-based funding was a critical and overdue step in the reform plan.

“Were not naïve, it will be a very big piece of work, but an incredibly important threshold piece of work to be undertaken,” she said.

Ms Lilly also underlined the need for the recently revised Australian Qualifications Framework to be implemented as part of the reform process.  

Minister Shannon Fentiman welcomed the idea of moving to a system of tied Commonwealth VET funding to the states but warned it would need to entail increased Commonwealth spending. 

“If we are going to see more students enrolling, more apprentices and trainees, we’re going to need significantly more than what we’re getting right now,” she said.

The Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (ACCC) also welcomed the promised VET reform and funding pledge.

“It is to be hoped, however, that VET does not have to wait until reform is completed before that investment is made, as one of the biggest issues has been the lack of consistent, overall funding growth in VET,” CEO James Pearson said. “That is the biggest single reform that needs to be made.” 

Ziffer expresses the sentiment of those who love the VET sector

Daniel Ziffer, ABC finance reporter and author of the A Wunch of Bankers, a personal memoir of the Banking Royal Commission, pointed to the real issues facing the VET sector in his ABC TV News report last Tuesday night.

Referring to a report published by the Mitchell Institute in 2019, he said

“The sector has faced significant funding cuts. State governments and students pay the bulk of costs. State governments have reduced their funding in the past decade. But the Federal government has taken a hammer to TAFE by opening up the sector to private colleges and boosting them by offering loans to students.”

Government investment in education provision in the VET sector (2018 $000,000)

Source: Hurley, P., & Van Dyke, N. (2019). Australian investment in education: vocational education and training. Mitchell Institute, Melbourne.

The introduction of private for-profit colleges and the ill-fated VET FEE HELP loan scheme wreaked havoc on the sector resulting in significant reputational damage. Many students have been left with huge debts and incomplete courses from worthless institutions. He added:

"It’s been a debacle. Many students have been left with huge debts and incomplete courses from worthless institutions, like cooking schools without kitchens. The schemes have been wound back but with huge damage to the reputation of the sector."

Bruce Mackenzie (of the Mackenzie Research Institute) noted that the “silly policy” of letting private sector, for-profit providers into education did not work and was further exacerbated by “a focus on universities at the expense of vocational education and training”.

A sustainable model of VET funding to reverse declining trends in participation, with the right balance between quality and efficiency is urgently needed now.

Bruce Mackenzie, Mackenzie Research Institute

The Prime Minister signals support for TAFEs

The Prime Minister has linked the Morrison government funding of VET with the approach taken for public hospitals. He said, ‘our national hospital agreement actually provides a good model for the changes that I would like to advance. Incorporating national efficient pricing and activity-based funding models would be a real step forward.’

The hospitals agreement is an ideal blueprint. It funds public hospitals only and accepts their central role in health care. Earlier in the morning on Brisbane radio, TDA CEO, Craig Robertson in responding to a call claiming private providers were more flexible, said:

You need TAFEs like you need public hospitals. But public hospitals don’t look after all health needs so you need to be able to supplement that with other providers. We haven’t got a rational approach to that. And if the Prime Minister is prepared to sit down and work with states and territories on a rational approach, then that would be a good thing.

It’s time for blind faith in competition as the salve for perceived ailments of VET to be put aside. The skills-deepening Australia needs for the new wave of productivity gains will not come out of a training package and a leased office. The depth of vocational expertise, the industry breadth and the capital for learning is only available at TAFEs, across Australia.

As Craig went on to say:

One thing that has obviously been proven over the last couple of months through the national cabinet is that national emergencies need joint and unified efforts and for Australia to get out of the COVID crisis and regrow the economy you need a very strong VET system with TAFEs as the foundation for it.

Strong support to take up AQF Proposals

Industry representatives are calling on the Government to proceed with the next stages of reform to the Australian Qualifications Framework proposed by the panel led by Professor Peter Noonan and handed to the Government late last year.

Education Minister, Dan Tehan accepted unilaterally all the recommendations relating to higher education and is already tinkering with the design by introducing higher education certificates, which did not even register in the panel’s report.

In the meantime, the recommendations impacting on vocational education and training are stuck with skills ministers, with no sign yet of a decision. The first step has been to kick off a process of defining micro-credentials in VET but that is still with senior officials.

ANTA Again

Students of the history of VET in Australia would have found alignment between the conditions we face today with those at the genesis of ANTA.

The Australian National Training Authority (ANTA) was established as a Commonwealth statutory authority in 1992 to coordinate across governments the skills development drive as the way out of the 1990s recession. It was established after a flirtatious dance between Paul Keating and Premiers to transfer VET responsibilities to the Commonwealth, but word is Keating forgot to tell Kim Beazley, who was in negotiations with NSW Premier John Fahey, that all other Premiers had agreed. Fahey held out and ANTA was born. You can only imagine the outcome today if Fahey capitulated, as many thought would have happened if both he and Beazley knew the state of the board.

Keating, on assumption of power, had dismantled Hawke’s Premiers Conference in favour of the Council of Australian Governments model, principally to rein in Hawke’s flirtation with transferring tax raising powers to the states.

Coming forward to today, we have JobMaker, a long-awaited focus on skills development, a reformed national decision-making architecture and a Bill in the federal chamber to establish a National Skills Commission.

The Prime Minister rejected any intention of Commonwealth take-over in his Tuesday address.

ANTA isn’t too much of a stretch, though! Many old-timers would be approving.

When the first ministers talk of VET, maybe they’ll invoke the spirit of the great band that powered many a dance – Knowing me, knowing you, maybe it’s the best we can do.

The facts on National Agreements

Much has been made of the $1.5b that the Prime Minister and Minister Cash cite in being compelled to hand to the states and territories with no visibility of expenditure nor accountability.

The National Agreement for Skills and Workforce Development (NASWD) is the formal agreement prescribing the transfer of Specific Purpose Payments to the states and territories for specific purposes. The practice was started by Earl Page when he was Prime Minister and wanted money spent on country roads which rested with states. It’s curious that the federal government feels helpless in handing over that money as it is authorised in the Commonwealth Budget and formally appropriated through the Federal Financial Relations (FFR) Act, both in the charge of the Commonwealth.

The FFR was established in 2009 as part of Kevin Rudd’s reform to the federation. Specific Purpose Payments were not to suffer the interminable political dog fights when they came to renewal. The haggling took place in setting up partnerships for reform where additional funding from the Commonwealth was provided. Both gave states and territories autonomy to administer systems to suit their circumstances, and accountability was exercised through the COAG Reform Council (CRC) which monitored performance of the federation financial relationships. Tony Abbott abolished the council and after his federation reform agenda went off the rails and nothing was put in place.

It’s hard to see who to blame other than the feds on this one.

MaryAnn O’Loughlin was the inaugural CEO of the CRC and is now in the NSW Government looking after VET and will have a heavy hand in negotiations. It will be interesting to keep an eye on the accountability arrangements.

Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on facebook
Facebook