土著人的声音可以改善澳大利亚的教育-查尔斯·达尔文大学

查尔斯·达尔文大学

2020年8月31日

土著学者的工作很累。我们的人很少,但要求我们对与澳大利亚原住民有关的所有事情发表评论,或参加每个有关澳大利亚原住民委员会的事实都是不合理的期望,尤其是当被要求免费提供时,并且除了您之外现有的工作量。您可以想象,我们的时间紧缺且宝贵。但是,作为土著教育者和研究者,我们最紧张的方面是看到和理解一个似乎没有改变的明显问题的精神压力。

我要说的问题不是土著教育,因为这将把责任归咎于错误的土著人民。我说的是僵硬和缺乏包容性,这是我们澳大利亚教育体系的重要组成部分。在这种定位下,我利用了我的土著立场,并提供了经常被忽视或最小化的见解。

 

土著人的声音可以轻松地帮助我们对澳大利亚的教育体系进行分析和思考,以使其变得更好。从少数群体的立场出发来解决这个问题,就会暴露出我们似乎显而易见而别人看不见的差距。这就是土著声音的价值。参与并讨论其观点的土著人民提供了对教育的不同见解,以及对世界的不同理解。

我的研究结果表明,需要进行文化转变以改善土著学生的教育成果。这些发现最近发表在 AlterNative:国际原住民杂志 通过改善师范教育探索提高土著学生的学习成绩。土著教育者的观点有可能通过以下方式改善土著教育成果: 通知见识 进入西方期望与土著知识之间的联系。

作为查尔斯·达尔文大学(Charles Darwin University)土著未来,艺术与社会学院的研究活跃讲师,我进行的研究特别着重于土著教育问题。我目前的研究包括有关教师教育和利用土著教育者的声音来建立文化能力和能力的项目,通过尊重土著和西方知识系统的双重学院方法探索土著人参与高等教育,以及研究用于远程学习的小型学习中心平台的开发分组学习情境作为发展北方的一种方式。我领导或参与的每个项目可能看起来都不同,但是它们都对一件事情有所贡献。它们都有助于改善土著学生的学习成绩。

我对我的每位原住民同事也表示同情,并为更多的原住民学者继续开展重要工作铺平了道路。

查尔斯·达尔文大学的Tracy Woodroffe博士的文章

* Campus Morning Mail(CMM)–来自以原住民和托雷斯海峡岛民的观点为特色的特别丛书。

在这里阅读文章。

分享到twitter
推特
分享到linkedin
领英
分享到facebook
脸书

Indigenous voices can change Australian education for the better – Charles Darwin University

charles-darwin-university

31 August 2020

The job of an Indigenous academic is exhausting. The fact that there are so few of us, yet we are asked to comment on everything relating to Indigenous Australia, or to participate on every committee regarding Indigenous Australia is an unreasonable expectation especially when asked to do it for free, and on top of your existing workload. As you can imagine, our time is in demand and precious. However, the most stressful aspect of our role as Indigenous educators and researchers is the mental strain of seeing and understanding a glaring problem that does not seem to change.

The problem that I am talking about is not Indigenous education, because that would put the blame in the wrong place, on Indigenous people. I am talking about the inflexibility and lack of inclusion that is so much a part of our Australian education system. In this positioning I am utilising my Indigenous standpoint and providing an insight that is often overlooked or minimised.

 

Indigenous voices could easily assist with analysis and reflections on our Australian education system to change it for the better. Coming at the issue from the position of the minority exposes the gaps that seem glaring to us and invisible to others. This is the value of Indigenous voice. Indigenous people engaging and discussing their perspectives provide a different insight into education, and a different way of understanding the world.

My research findings suggest that a cultural shift is required to improve educational outcomes for Indigenous students. These findings were recently published in AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples exploring enhanced Indigenous student outcomes through improved teacher education. The views of Indigenous educators have the potential to improve Indigenous education outcomes by informing insight into the link between Western expectations and Indigenous knowledge.

As a research active lecturer in the College of Indigenous Futures, Arts and Society at Charles Darwin University, I conduct research with a specific emphasis on Indigenous education issues. My current research includes projects about teacher education and utilising Indigenous educator voice to build cultural competence and capacity, exploring Indigenous engagement in higher education through a dual academy approach honouring both Indigenous and Western knowledge systems, and investigating the development of small learning hub platforms for remote group learning contexts as a way to develop the North. Each project that I lead or participate in may seem different, but they all contribute to one thing. They all contribute to improving Indigenous student outcomes.

I pay respect to each of my Indigenous colleagues who have also had the same focus and paved the way for more Indigenous academics to continue the important work.

Article by Dr Tracy Woodroffe, Charles Darwin University

*Campus Morning Mail (CMM) – from a special series featuring Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people’s perspectives.

Read article here.

Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on facebook
Facebook