FRANCESCA BEDDIE:COVID-19之后的高等教育

转载自《珍珠与烦恼》,经作者许可。

COVID-19所做的一件事是粉碎繁琐的官僚改革过程,这种过程通常会滋生惰性而不是改变。我对教育系统适应锁定的速度如此之快感到惊讶。

尽管我想看到的最后一件事是永久性地转向在线学习,但我热切希望我们利用危机释放的创新灵力来建立新的教育结构,而不是急于恢复旧的教育结构,如果可能的话。

对于在学校和高等教育中学习的人来说,我感到他们错过了学习的社会方面,并且担心这种中断对他们的进一步学习和就业的影响。对于那些失去工作可能无法返回的人。对于所有那些全天候工作的教育者和管理人员来说,一切都是这样。无论如何,这些学习者和工人是一个特殊的群体,应格外关注他们的下一个人生阶段。

情况也使他们成为实验小组,正在实时测试新的教学方法。如果这种特殊的照顾意味着通过重新校准2021年的事情发生方式来继续进行实验,该怎么办?

参加12年级的学生。联邦部长丹·特汉(Dan Tehan)强调说“不会再有13年了”。他的意思是不会再重复十二年。但是,如果13年级(像魁北克那样)是两年制大学预科课程的最后一年,还是三年职业教育课程的第二年呢?这个过渡年是否会让人们赶上他们在2020年可能错过的事情?难道不会帮助他们在劳动力市场上做出更好的职业决策,而这可能与他们进入11年级时的想法大不相同?它能开始实现澳大利亚政府职业教育与培训改革路线图的目标之一,即加强职业教育与高等教育之间的衔接和融合吗?

大流行已经揭示出整个经济的弱点:全球供应链中的缺陷;对国际学生的过度依赖;低估基本工人。它已经促使对穷人和弱势群体(尽管不是难民)的不平等待遇进行了一些纠正,并且突显了我们在多大程度上依赖我们的有爱心的专业人员,教师和所有与物流有关的人员。

英格兰银行行长马克·卡尼(Mark Carney)写道,这场危机可能促使市场经济发生根本性转变,因为社会将健康置于重于利润,将社区置于个人之上,从而将公共价值观塑造为私人价值。这将看到“经济活力和效率的价值……以及团结,公平,责任和同情心的价值”。卡尼希望人们能够要求决策者更多地听取专家的建议,尤其是那些致力于气候变化的科学家。

这样的愿景可以极大地塑造高等教育的未来。在澳大利亚,我们终于有机会做一些事情,而不只是希望高等教育和职业教育领域之间的均等。还应该有可能通过学习政府决策的方式来形成新的R&D合作,这些方法只有在实时咨询了可用的最佳医学思想后才能进行学习,并且可以从全国和世界各地的实验室工作中找到疫苗,以及与行业的合作关系,将杜松子酒蒸馏器变成消毒剂生产商,并加快口罩的国内生产。

所有这些以及不可避免的财政限制表明,需要采用新的高等教育方法。各国政府必须重新制定政策,这些政策使大学比职业教育更受青睐。这意味着更公平的学生贷款安排,并认识到需要投资纯研究和应用研究以推动经济增长。大学将不得不重新考虑他们的商业模式,这可能会使他们萎缩,同时又回到高等学术学习和研究的核心业务。整个职业教育部门-提供者,行业,公务员-都对灵活性和响应能力的真正含义有所了解。他们需要找出如何使这种敏捷性成为系统的永久功能,尤其是在要求VET帮助劳动力市场复苏的时候。

2020年7月1日,新的国家技能委员会(NSC)开始工作。 NSC的既定使命是通过找到“一种确保国家资金一致性并推动对整个行业的未来技能需求进行研究和分析的方法”来在VET系统方面发挥国家领导作用。面对大流行带来的新挑战,让我们希望它能够摆脱这种疲惫的言论,并重新开始。早期的任务应该是咨询所有迅速适应远程和在线工作并重新考虑实际培训的职业教育者和培训者。另一个问题是,无论大小,雇主都应询问他们认为哪些技能对适应大流行带来的新条件至关重要。我怀疑他们的答案将指向需要强调实用学习的知识,如果应用学习不是太专注于狭窄的工作任务,则可以培养这种学习。 NSC与国家职业研究所一起,也获得了一次难得的机会,可以利用对受过职业培训的基本工人的广泛尊重,这是COVID-19带来的更幸福的后果之一。

Francesca Beddie是国家职业教育研究中心的前研究总经理。参见她对2006年高等教育结构的历史分析 高等教育的差异化模式:过去的想法,当代政策和未来的可能性

分享到twitter
推特
分享到linkedin
领英
分享到facebook
脸书

FRANCESCA BEDDIE: Tertiary education after COVID-19

Reproduced from Pearls and Irritations and by permission of the author.

One thing COVID-19 has done is shatter laborious bureaucratic reform processes that so often breed inertia rather than change. I marvel at how quickly education systems have adapted to the lockdown.

While the last thing I want to see is a permanent shift to online learning, I fervently hope we harness the innovative genie the crisis has released to build new educational structures rather than rushing to restore the old ones, if that is even possible.

I feel for learners at school and in tertiary education, who are missing out on the social aspects of learning and who are fearful about the implications of this disruption for their further learning and employment. For those people who have lost jobs to which they may not be able to return. And for all those educators and administrators working around the clock to keep things going. However things turn out, these learners and workers are a special cohort who deserve to be shepherded into the next stage of their lives with extra special care.

Circumstances have also made them an experimental group, which is testing in real time new approaches to education. What if that special care meant also continuing the experiment by recalibrating the way things happen in 2021?

Take year 12 students. The federal minister, Dan Tehan, said emphatically ‘there will be no year 13’. What he meant was there will be no repeating year 12. Fair enough. But what if year 13 was, as it is in Quebec, the final year of a two-year pre-university program or the second of a three-year vocational education program? Would this transitional year not allow people to catch up what they may have missed in 2020? Would it not help them make better career decisions about a labour market that could be very different from the one they had in mind when they entered year 11? Could it start to fulfill one aim of the Council of Australian Government’s VET Reform Roadmap, namely stronger alignment and integration between VET and higher education?

The pandemic has uncovered weaknesses across the economy: flaws in global supply chains; over-reliance on international students; the undervaluing of essential workers. It has prompted, already, some corrections in the inequitable treatment of the poor and vulnerable (though not refugees), and it has highlighted how much we rely on our caring professionals, teachers and all those involved in logistics.

The governor of the Bank of England, Mark Carney, has written that this crisis may prompt a fundamental shift in the market economy to one where public values shape private worth because society has prioritised health over profit, community over individuals. This would see ‘the values of economic dynamism and efficiency…joined by those of solidarity, fairness, responsibility and compassion’. Carney expects people will demand that decision makers give more heed to the advice of experts, importantly those scientists working on climate change.

Such a vision can do much to shape the future of tertiary education. In Australia we have the chance finally to do something about, instead of just wishing for, parity of esteem between the higher and vocational education sectors. It should also be possible to shape new R&D collaborations by learning from the way governments have made their decisions only after consulting, in real time, the best medical minds available, and from the work in laboratories across the country and the world to find a vaccine, and from partnerships with industry to turn gin distillers into sanitiser producers and to accelerate domestic manufacturing of masks.

All this, as well as inevitable fiscal restraints, points to the need for new approaches to tertiary education. Governments must reboot policies that have so favoured universities over vocational education. That means fairer student loan arrangements and a recognition of the need to invest in both pure and applied research to drive improvements in the economy. Universities will have to rethink their business models, which may see them shrink but also return to the core business of higher academic learning and research. The whole vocational education sector – providers, industry, public servants – has had a glimpse of what flexibility and responsiveness really mean. They need to work out how to make such agility a permanent feature of the system, especially at a time when VET will be asked to help in the labour market recovery.

On 1 July 2020, a new National Skills Commission (NSC) starts work. The NSC’s stated mission is to provide national leadership for the VET system by finding ‘an approach to national consistency of funding and driving research and analysis of future skills needs across industry’. In the face of the new challenges posed by the pandemic, let us hope it can shed this tired rhetoric and start again. An early task should be to consult all the vocational educators and trainers who have so quickly adapted to working remotely and online and to rethinking practical training. Another will be to ask employers, large and small, what skills they have identified as essential to adapt to the new conditions imposed by the pandemic. I suspect their answers will point to the need to emphasise the practical wisdom that applied learning can foster if it is not too focussed on narrow work tasks. Together with the National Careers Institute, the NSC also has a unique chance to capitalise on the widespread respect for vocationally trained essential workers that has been one of the happier consequences of COVID-19.

Francesca Beddie is a former general manager of research at the National Centre for Vocational Education Research. See her historical analysis of tertiary education structures in A differentiated model for tertiary education: past ideas, contemporary policy and future possibilities

Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on facebook
Facebook